top of page

I’m on my way to becoming an FCS teacher...

Several personal reasons have motivated me to pursue a career as a Family and Consumer Science (FCS) teacher.

I have grown up as the oldest child in my family and have had the responsibility of helping to take care of my two younger siblings. My younger sister, Courtney, was born with a craniofacial anomaly called Apert Syndrome. Characteristics of Apert Syndrome include but are not limited to: premature fusion of craniofacial bones, fused fingers and toes, other bone abnormalities, breathing problems, cognitive delays and muscular weakness. I have had the privilege of learning to care for my sister’s physical as well as cognitive and social needs. Because of Courtney’s challenges, this ongoing life experience has been a great opportunity for me to learn about child development, family dynamics and relationships from the perspective of having a sibling with multiple challenges and how this impacts day-to-day family life.

In addition, I have always longed to someday have a family of my own. I love all of the areas included in Family and Consumer Science program. I believe that through mastering these subjects, as well as teaching them to others, I will be prepared for the challenge of my own marriage and family life.

Another motivator in choosing to be an FCS educator concerns a current, nationally trending hashtag: #adulting. This term is used when someone is said to behave in an adult manner or engage in activities associated with adulthood. The rise in the use of this word is occurring because of the “delayed development” of millennials. There is an influx of young people embarking upon the “real world,” whether it be starting college or joining the ranks of the gainfully employed, with few “real life” skills that are key components of the FCS program.

I want to become a Family and Consumer Science educator so that I can help students learn the skills necessary to function in the “real world.” Young people today are minimally experienced in many areas such as financial literacy and consumerism, food and nutrition, sewing and textiles, parenting via child development courses, etc. As a result, most feel unprepared and/or overwhelmed when met with the challenges of activities of daily living. I would hope that my contribution as an FCS teacher would assist in obliterating the use of “#adulting.” Rather, my hope is that upon graduation, high school students embarking upon the “real world” will feel prepared and even confident that they will be independent, functioning members of society.

The FCS curriculum lends itself well to fostering character development, creative and critical thinking, interpersonal communication, practical knowledge, and occupational preparation. I want assist students in preparing to succeed in life and build a better future for themselves and their families. Through the classes that I will be teaching, I will be able to help students gain important life skills that will contribute significantly to developing these all-important human characteristics. My desire is to help students recognize the significance of these attributes and life skills necessary for leading successful and independent lives. I want my students to become contributing members of society and not be afraid to start “adulting.”

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page